People

SDHI Management
Co-Directors
Professor Thilo Kroll
Co-Director of SDHI and Professor of Disability and Public Health Research at the University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388655
Email: t.kroll@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Huw Davies
Co-Director of SDHI and Professor of Health Care Policy & Management at the University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 462870
Email: hd@st-andrews.ac.uk
Associate Directors
Professor Peter Donnelly
Associate Director of SDHI and Professor of Public Health Medicine at the University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463560
Email: pdd21@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Ed Hall
Associate Director of SDHI and Senior Lecturer in Human Geography at the University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388073
Email: e.c.hall@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Martyn Jones
Associate Director of SDHI and Professor of Healthcare Research at the University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388656
Email: m.c.jones@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Gozde Ozakinci
Associate Director of SDHI and Lecturer in Health Psychology School of Medicine at the University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463521
Email: go10@st-andrews.ac.uk
Administrators
Dr Fred Comerford
Institute Manager
SDHI
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388661
Email: fac1@st-andrews.ac.uk
Rosanne Bell
Administrative Officer
SDHI
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386870
Email: r.c.bell@dundee.ac.uk
SDHI Team
Deborah Baldie is a part-time PhD student with SDHI and is also a registered nurse working part-time as a Senior Practice Development Nurse within NHS Tayside
Tel: +44 (0)1382 385725
Email: d.baldie@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Norma Baldwin
Emeritus Professor
SDHI
Tel: +44 (0)1382 381424
Email: n.baldwin@dundee.ac.uk
Carolina Borda Nino2 Dr Carolina Borda Nino
PhD Social Sciences, CIESAS-Mexico
PhD Candidate Social Anthropology
University of St Andrews
Email: cb544@st-andrews.ac.uk
Jenna Breckenridge Dr Jenna Breckenridge
Postdoctoral Research Assistant
School of Nursing & Midwifery
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388658
Email: j.breckenridge@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Bradbury-Jones
Senior Lecturer
School of Nursing, Midwifery & Social Work
University of Manchester
Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 7656
Email:  caroline.bradbury-jones@manchester.ac.uk
Cate Buchanan Cate Buchanan
Director, Surviving Gun Violence Project
Managing Partner of Athena Consortium
Email: cate@survivinggunviolence.org / cate.buchanan@athenaconsortium.org
Dr Joanne Coyle
Senior Research Fellow
School of Medicine/SDHI
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386424
Email: joannecoyle2002@hotmail.com
Dr Sue Dawson
Lecturer in Physical Geography
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 384436
Email: s.dawson@dundee.ac.uk
Professor Chris Dibben
Department of Geography and Sustainable Development
School of Geography & Geosciences
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463081
Email: cjld@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Anne Duguid
University of St Andrews
Email: anne_duguid1@yahoo.co.uk
Dr Phyllis Easton
Health Intelligence Manager
NHS Tayside
Tel: +44 (0)1382 424191
Email: phyllis.easton@nhs.net
 Fernando photo Dr Fernando Fernandes
Senior Lecturer in Inequalities
School of Nursing & Midwifery
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 384754
Email: f.l.fernandes@dundee.ac.uk
Deepak Dr Deepak Gopinath
Lecturer
Town & Regional Planning
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 385048
Email: d.gopinath@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Suzanne Grant
MRC Population Health Scientist Fellow
School of Medicine
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388657
Email: s.m.grant@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Alex Greene
Senior Research Fellow in Medical Anthropology and Behavioural and Social Sciences Teaching Lead, Child Health
Ninewells Hospital & Medical School
Tel: +44 (0)1382 632179
Email: a.c.greene@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Gail Greig
Lecturer in Management
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 462875
Email: gjg@st-andrews.ac.uk
Sepideh Mrs Sepideh Hajisoltani
Architect & Development Practitioner
SDHI Associate
Email: sepidsoltani@gmail.com
Professor Gerry Humphris
Professor of Health Psychology
School of Medicine
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463565
Email: gmh4@st-andrews.ac.uk
Graeme Hutton Professor Graeme Hutton
Associate Dean / Head of Architecture and Planning
School of the Environment
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 385270
Email: g.hutton@dundee.ac.uk
Graeme is a recognised award winning and principled designer of innovative domestic buildings for sensitive environments. The research methods that underpin this work have also contributed to the design of health-care facilities for those with long-term health conditions, Patients who’s needs require care-spaces which offer more than institutional aesthetics and functional efficiency
Dr Jo Inchley
Assistant Director of Child and Adolescent Health Research Unit (CAHRU)/Senior Research Fellow
School of Medicine
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0) 1334 461736
Email: jci2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Sara Joice
Senior Research Fellow
NMAHP Research Unit
University of Stirling
Email: sara.joice@gcu.ac.uk
Trenholme Junghans
PhD Student
SDHI / University of St Andrews
Email: tj58@st-andrews.ac.uk
 Chris Kelly Chris Kelly
ACES Study Research Manager
SDHI / Tayside Healthcare Arts Trust
Universities of Dundee and St Andrews / NHS Tayside
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386871
Email: c.q.kelly@dundee.ac.uk / ckelly3@nhs.net
Professor Tim Kelly
Professor of Social Work
School of Education, Social Work & Community Education
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 381534
Email: t.b.kelly@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Steve MacGillivray
Senior Lecturer – Evidence Synthesis
SDHI / School of Nursing & Midwifery
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 381075
Email: s.a.macgillivray@dundee.ac.uk
  Dr Wendy Moncur
Reader in Socio-Digital Interaction
Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386538
Email: w.moncur@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Jacqui Morris
Clinical Research Fellow in the School of Nursing & Midwifery, University of Dundee and AHP Research Lead with NHS Tayside
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388666 or (0)1382 660111 Ext 24031/24145
Email: j.y.morris@dundee.ac.uk or jacqui.morris@nhs.net
 Rachel Nutt Rachel Nutt
Research Technician
Division of Neuroscience (Psychiatry)
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 383619
Email: r.z.nutt@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Alison Powell
Research Fellow
School of Management / SDHI
University of St Andrews
Email: aep2@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Janice Rattray
Reader
School of Nursing and Midwifery
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 384921
Email: j.z.rattray@dundee.ac.uk
foto_Andrea Dr Andréa Rodriguez
Psychologist
SDHI Associate
Email: a.r.fernandes@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Morven Shearer
Academic Fellow
School of Medicine
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463573
Email: mcs6@st-andrews.ac.uk
Madalina Dr Madalina Toma
Research Associate
SDHI / School of Nursing & Midwifery
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386878
Email: m.t.toma@dundee.ac.uk
Tricia Tooman Tricia R Tooman
PhD Student
School of Management/SDHI
University of St Andrews
Email: trt@st-andrews.ac.uk
Dr Markus Themessl-Huber
Senior Research Fellow
SDHI / School of Nursing & Midwifery
University of Dundee
Email: m.themessl-huber@dundee.ac.uk
Glorieuse Uwizeye Glorieuse Uwizeye
Nursing Advisor
SDHI Associate
Human Resources for Health/Ministry of Health
Kigali-Rwanda
Email: gloryuw@yahoo.fr
lorraine4720blue163 Dr Lorrraine van Blerk
Reader
Geography, School of the Environment
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 385445
Email: l.c.vanblerk@dundee.ac.uk
Daniela Villagrán
Master of Design Student
University of Dundee
Email: danielavillagran@gmail.com
Professor Annalu Waller
Professor
Human Communication Technologies
School of Computing, University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388223
Email: awaller@computing.dundee.ac.uk
Dr Isabel Walter
formerly Senior Research Fellow and Associate of the Research Unit for Research Utilisation (RURU)
University of St Andrews
Professor Mary Wells
Professor of Cancer Nursing Research & Practice
NMAHP Research Unit
University of Stirling
Email: mary.wells@stir.ac.uk
Patsy_Whelehan2_photo Patsy Whelehan
Senior Research Radiographer
Medical Research Institute
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 383292
Email: p.j.whelehan@dundee.ac.uk
Hazel White
Course Director, Master of Design
Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design
University of Dundee
Tel: +44 (0)1382 388288
Email: h.white@dundee.ac.uk
Dr Joyce Wilkinson
Honorary Research Fellow, School of Management and SDHI
Research Fellow, School of Healthcare Sciences, Bangor University
Email: j.e.wilkinson@bangor.ac.uk
Dr Damien Williams
Lecturer in Public Health Sciences
School of Medicine
University of St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1334 463481
Email: djw11@st-andrews.ac.uk
 Gavin Wylie Gavin Wylie
Podiatrist / PIRFECT Study Principal Investigator
SDHI / NHS Tayside
Universities of Dundee & St Andrews
Tel: +44 (0)1382 386871 / +44(0)1738 473980
Email: g.wylie@dundee.ac.uk / g.wylie@nhs.net
Past Directors
Professor Paul Boyle is the founding Director of SDHI and is currently on leave of absence from the University of St Andrews until 2014 having been appointed the Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
Professor Brian Williams is a former Director of SDHI and is currently Director of the Chief Scientist Office’s Nursing Midwifery and Allied Health Professions Research Unit (NMAHP) at the Universities of Stirling and Glasgow Caledonian
Past Associate Directors
Professor Arlene Astell
Arlene is a former Associate Director of SDHI and is Professor in the Centre for Assistive Technology and Connected Healthcare (CATCH), School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) at the University of Sheffield
Email: A.Astell@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Vikki Entwistle
Vikki is a former Associate Director of SDHI and Professor of Health Services Research and Ethics in the Health Services Research Unit at the University of Aberdeen
Email: Vikki.Entwistle@abdn.ac.uk